Orientation

Oh, how the time flies. My few weeks of freedom have come to an end & my grad school experience is finally starting! I attended my first day of orientation, which wasn’t as riveting as I’d hoped it would be. However, I did have the opportunity to have lunch with the Chair of the Psychology Department & my cohort. What’s unique about my school is that it’s not uncommon for people to travel here from all sorts of places around the world specifically for the Buddhist & Religious Studies programs. Along with a few students from out of state, we have a gentleman from Denmark joining us in our studies. I thought that was fascinating. If I’m being honest, that tidbit also gave me a slight case of impostor syndrome already. There I was, sitting alongside students with such diverse backgrounds and feeling like a plain Jane. I’ve never traveled across the country to continue my education elsewhere, or had the courage to move out & make it on my own. My entire life’s experiences seemed meek compared to the adventures of some of my peers. Luckily, I was able to shake it off fairly easily. My journey is only beginning; I’ll have plenty of time to prove myself along the way. Tomorrow should be more interesting. There will be a more in depth introduction to the MFT program and I’ll get to register for my classes! It feels good to be a student again. I’m looking forward to what’s ahead.

One thought on “Orientation

Leave a Reply

