Weaning Off

For the last year & a quarter, I’ve been on an anti-depressant for generalized anxiety & mild OCD. It was a necessity after my grandma passed, when my symptoms became too hard for me to handle on my own. My neutral obsessions, with sharp sounds specifically, made working with an office-mate so unbearable I’d have to keep my headphones on throughout most of the work day to avoid having a panic attack or acting out my visions of inflicting bodily harm to my coworker, whom I sincerely liked (aside from the sounds she’d unconsciously make). I had wanted to get off the meds after about 6 months. They, along with therapy, had helped me tremendously, but I didn’t like the side effect of having an unusually low libido while on the meds. My psychiatrist advised against weaning off due to the stress that can arise when planning a wedding, which I was in the middle of. Now that I’m officially a married woman, I’m revisiting the idea of weaning off. I think it’s time. I’m just nervous, because I’m still under a lot of stress now that I’m a new grad student. I’m hoping my symptoms don’t come back with a vengeance during vital periods like midterms or finals! However, I have a wonderful support system both at home & school. Here’s to hoping that it’s enough to keep me sane through this process!

Leave a Reply

