Guess Who’s Back?

giphy.gif

This week I made some exciting moves. The agency that I worked at for 2 years prior to starting grad school recently contacted me with an offer. They needed some extra assistance in the residential department with a lot of the tasks that I previously handled. They wanted to know if I was interested in returning. It was a difficult decision, but I declined. While I loved my previous position and could see the value in continuing to build my knowledge base with that population, I simply couldn’t devote a full 40 hours a week to the job. I had set my mind on completely immersing myself in the grad school process and getting all that I could out of it. I wanted to honor that, and a full time job would hinder my ability to truly apply myself at school. I did, however, let them know that if they were willing to bend the amount of hours per week, I’d be their girl. I was pleasantly surprised when they told me they would be willing to work with my needs. We took some time sorting out the details, and I’ve officially agreed to return as the Residential Treatment Coordinator! The most exciting part is that some of my responsibilities overlap with the Mental Health department. For example, I’ll be facilitating a Day Treatment group on topics such as anger management or seeking safety. This will allow me to start working toward the 3,000 hours that I’ll ultimately need to collect in order to take the licensing test after I finish school. I’ll be getting paid to do something that I would need to do for free otherwise! So, I’m going back to face the minions once again. I’m thrilled to see where this experience takes me this time!

Leave a Reply

